The TW Canterbury Open 2022


The Canterbury Open is back after a three year as Kent's biggest graded event looks to bounce back and be bigger than ever!

The 2019 final saw World No.9, Joel Makin of Wales retain his title with a 3-1 win over England's Adrian Waller (World No.17)

From this year onwards, the event will be renamed The TW Canterbury Open in memory of Club President, Tony Whiting , who sadly passed away recently and had been a big supporter of this event since the very first edition in 2007.

The B Grade event of this tournament has also been renamed The Sam Rooks Cup as a tribute to Maidstone Squash Club's Sam Rooks, who tragically passed away in 2020 during lockdown

Tournament Organisers

Joe Magor | | Tel: 07909531367

Natasha Burrett | | Tel: 07545140650

Tournament Date

This event will be a weekend event run from Friday the 19th of August to Sunday the 21st of August 2022

Tournament Categories

A Grade (24 places) – (Squash Levels: 6000+ ) - PSA Players and County Level Club Players . Places will be limited to the top 16 entries with the highest Squash Levels ranking plus 8 local Kent spots.

B Grade (32 places) – (Squash Levels: 2600-5999) - Players in the PSA, County League 1st Division League Team

C Grade (32 places) – (Squash Levels: 1200-2599) - Players in a County League 2nd Division League Team

D Grade (16 places) – (Squash Levels: 300-1199) - Players who play in a lower team, recreationally or in a Club internal League

E Grade (16 places) – (Squash Levels: 0-299) - Players who are beginners to competitive squash (Squash Levels: 0-199)

Tournament Schedule

A Grade, B Grade and C Grades will run on Friday, Saturday & Sunday and will be a knockout with plate competition format.

D and E Grades will be run on Sunday only and will be one day monrad competions that will run along side the semi finals and finals of the A, B and C Grades.

More Information

• Trophies will be awarded to all grade and plate winners and finalists.

• Entry fee is £22.50 and payable either by cash on the day or by debit/credit card online or on the day!

• Entry Fee includes The TW Canterbury Open tournament t-shirt.

• All players are guaranteed a minimum of two matches in A-C Grades and a minimum of three matches in D & E Grades.

• All matches will be Best of 5, PAR 11 Scoring for A-C Grades and Best of 3, PAR 11 Scoring (2 clear at 10-10) for D & E Grades.

• All matches results will be logged onto League Master and imported into Squash Levels

• For all enquiries, please email me at or call/text 07909 531367


A list of players that have entered this event can be found at the bottom of this page. This list is updated manually on a daily basis so your name won’t appear on the list straight after you have entered!

The TW Canterbury Open 2022 Entry Form

This entry list was last updated on: Wednesday 17th August 2022 @ 7:00am

A GradE

1. Declan James
2. Joe Lee (New Malden)
3. Curtis Malik (Crawley)
4. Rui Soares (Nuffield St Albans)
5. Ben Coleman
6. Tom Walsh
7. Daryl Selby (Lexden)
8. Miles Jenkins (St George’s Hill)
9. Perry Malik (Crawley)
10. Richie Fallows (Crawley)
11. Noah Meredith (Brighton)
12. Oisin Logan (Southbank)
13. Anthony Rogal (Cumberland)
14. Will Salter (Uni of Birmingham)
15. George Porter (Middleton)
16. James Gibbins (Bromley SC) – Local
17. Jayden Gough
18. Jamie Goodrich (Broadland)
19. Bailey Malik (Crawley)
20. Robert Thirst (Broadland)
21. Kieran Wardman (Canterbury) – Local
22. Jude Gibbins (Bromley SC) – Local
23. Heston Malik (Crawley)
24. Joe Magor (Canterbury) – Local
25. Harvey McIntyre (Thanet) – Local
Reserve 1. 
Reserve 2.
Reserve 3.

B Grade / the sam rooks cup

1. Phil Fray (Maidstone)
2. Mike Watson (Maidstone)
3. John Hogwood (Maidstone)
4. Bill Thomson (Maidstone)
5. Andy Scott (Maidstone)
6. Ewan Bowerbank (Cumberland)
7. Darren Trebble (Maidstone)
8. Byrom Boutorabi (Kings)
9. James Illidge (Hallamshire)
10. Nic Wallder (Canterbury) 
11. Dan Sweeney (Bromley SC)
12. Adam Ward (Canterbury)
13. Duane Harrison (Canterbury)
14. Charlie Gibson (Crawley)
15. Lara Newton (Lexden)
16. Daniyal Jafree (UCL)
17. James McClean (Limpsfield)
18. Zan Farooqi (KCL)
19. Josh Cutting (Canterbury)
20. Alex Payne (Canterbury)
21. Jasmine Thirst (Broadland)
22. Jodie Hodgkins
23. Luke McBride (Limpsfield)
24. Caspar Bloomfield
Res 1. 
Res 2. 
Res 3.

C Grade

1. Simon Dumbleton (Elwick)
2. James Donaldson (Canterbury)
3. Andre Bharath (Grafton)
4. Jean-Baptiste Meyer (The Lansdowne Club)
5. Simon Ashby (Biddenden)
6. Jodie Hodgkins
7. Caspar Bloomfield (Thanet)
8. Gamble (Canterbury)
9. Emaan Ahmad (Canterbury)
10. Jamie Crawford (David Lloyd Eastbourne)
11. Mano Sathymurthy (Kings)
12. Amber Clarke (Canterbury)
13. Renata Colabella (Beckenham)
14. Bill Thompson (Maidstone)
15. Natasha Burrett (Southbank)
16. Nic Wallder (Canterbury)
Res 1. 
Res 2. 
Res 3.

D Grade

1. Chris Scott (Rodmersham)
2. Darren Trebble (Maidstone)
3. Louise Gregory (Canterbury)
4. Jon Ward (Woolwich Waterfront)
5. Ashley Scott (Woolwich Waterfront)
6. Jim Bloomfield (Thanet)
7. Keith Ragg (Nuffield St Albans)
8. Ben Davies (Biddenden)
9. Sally Meanley (Lexden)
10. Max Newton (Lexden)
11. Tim Lei (Woolwich Waterfront)
12. Lennon Clarke (Canterbury)
13. Sam Ide (Sundridge Park)
14. Reece Young (Beckenham)
15. Tom Beck (Uni of Surrey)
16. William Jones (Canterbury)
Res 1. 
Res 2. 
Res 3.

E Grade

1. Luc Hinson (Wendover)
2. Kiera Hynes (Biddenden)
3. Ceef Rawlings (Biddenden)
4. Harry Goldsmith (Biddenden)
5. Jo Ashby (Biddenden)
6. Max Heming (Canterbury)
7. Seth Player (Canterbury)
8. Laura Heather (Lexden)
9. James Ross (Biddenden)
10. Simon Olivari (Canterbury)
11. Richard Penny (Rodmersham)
12. Henry Smith (Canterbury)
Res 1. 
Res 2. 
Res 3.